NaNoWriMo: “I did it!” Post

28 11 2009

NaNoWriMo Winner Badge

 

I just verified my status as a NaNoWriMo winner, and I feel like running around the house, my arms waving madly around my head while my heels kick together in mid-air.  My family would just shake their heads and say, “Oh, she’s lost it again.”

 

Apparently, I’m not a great mathematician, as my final word count is significantly higher than what I had thought it was (as in, I was about 8,000 words off from the actual total, but at least that 8,000 made it a higher number than what I had calculated…).  Oops.  Ah, well.  I take it as a good sign that I was so into writing that I forgot to update my word counts when I should have.

 

My inability to count is not the purpose of this post.  I wanted to take a moment to celebrate authors everywhere, whether they are participating in NaNoWriMo or not.  For all you writers out there who take the plunge and put pieces of yourself on a page for others to read, take a moment to pat yourself on the back and realize just how brave and amazing you are.

 

The adrenaline rush is only going up from here, and I can’t stay seated much longer, so this post will be cut short.  I literally need to run around to burn some of this energy.  I wish all you who are working on your NaNoWriMo novels the best and hope that either you are already celebrating with me or you will be celebrating with me within the next couple days.  You can do it!

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 11 2009
Leigh Forbes

Congratulations! A fantastic achievement!!
Next year? 🙂

28 11 2009
jessiewriting

Thanks, Leigh!

And I have every intention of signing on again next year. After all, why wouldn’t I stretch my limits like that every single year?

Leave a Reply

