NaNoWriMo Update: Day 20

20 11 2009

I am exactly 2/3 of the way through NaNoWriMo, and I’ve managed to stay on target to finish the 50,000 words by the end of the month.  I want to do a happy dance for myself, but I’m disappointed that my progress has stalled lately.  The only reason I’m still on target is that I had worked ahead earlier on in the month.  I haven’t made my daily writing goals for the past few days, and I’m in need of a pick-me-up.  I am at that point that is supposed to be “magical” where you are so close to being finished that making 50k-goal should feel so much easier.  Yet, it doesn’t.

 

Parts of writing have become easier–I’m more familiar with my story and my characters, so when I sit to write, the words tend to come a bit more easily.  And since I had outlined so much in advance, writing the scenes goes smoothly.  My problem is getting the motivation to sit and write when I’m sick, when the semester is getting more hectic the closer it gets to the end, when there are so many good shows on TV, when there are so many blogs to read…  Okay, so once I start making excuses, they tend to get lame pretty quickly, which means I need to stop making excuses and start writing again.

 

My goal is to make it to 36,000 words by the end of the day tomorrow; as a different way of looking at it, my goal is to make it through the next chapter of my novel by the end of tomorrow.  If anyone has any encouraging words for writing to send my way, I sure wouldn’t mind hearing them. 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

