NaNoWriMo Update, Day 6

6 11 2009

This morning I had to drag myself out of bed after staying up too late last night working on my outline for my NaNoWriMo novel, and I’m starting to feel the physical side effects of writing–a leg went numb last night because I was sitting in a weird position on my bed while I was typing, my lower back aches from not sitting up straight enough, my hands hate me for making them type so much, and my eyes are pretty much giving up on being able see after having so much eye strain.  Today I will be implementing some of the strategies I found online for staying healthy while writing like a madwoman: use lots of eye drops, do eye exercises, flex my hands frequently, and stretch at regular intervals.  I’ve decided today that if I’ve been sitting at my computer for an hour, it’s time for 10 minutes of yoga.  I think that’s fair.  What will be interesting is what happens when I’m doing yoga in my office and a student walks in…  Professors need exercise, too.

 

I realized that I needed to update my NaNoWriMo meme after only two days of writing.  I still don’t have a rewards system per se, but I have adopted a routine that feels rather rewarding for me: Every time I finish typing a scene, I go to the NaNoWriMo website and add in my new word count and then change my status label on that scene from “To Do” to “First Draft.”  Changing the word count more frequently is helping me stay motivated because I’m one of those people who benefit from seeing progress in action.  To further motivate myself, I’m installing a word counter from the NaNoWriMo website on my blog (sharing it with readers means I have to carry through with it).

 

Also, I had said in my meme that I needed to learn to write during any situation; I set my goal for the day to write during any free time I found.  And I did.  I stole time throughout the day to write, and I didn’t even mind if I had to stop after a couple hundred words because my office phone rang or a student knocked on my door.  I hope this is a change in my writing behavior that I needed.

 

My question for all my writing friends is whether you have a regularly scheduled writing time.  I’ve read so many writing guides that say it works best if you write at the same time every day, but I have yet to find my magical writing time that will provide productivity.  Right now, the write-when-I-have-time method is working for me, but will it be able to sustain me for an entire month of writing?  I love that the more I write, the more I grow and change in my writing habits.

 

Trans-Siberian Orchestra Night Castle

Trans-Siberian Orchestra's newest CD: Night Castle

 

As a last update, Trans-Siberian Orchestra’s new CD arrived in the mail yesterday, and it’s been the perfect writing companion.  I am proud to say that after two productive days, I am now ahead of schedule (by 500 words) for my expected word count.  Well, that was as of yesterday.  My goal for today is to make it to 11,000 words–I need to save up extra words so that if I have another unproductive day, I won’t get behind.

 

As a last bit of inspiration, I found this poster with the 12 rules of writing on Squidoo.com:

 

12 Rules of Writing poster

 

Now off to get ready for the day so I can get started on reaching my 11,000-word goal (which means I have to write 2149 words today).

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

